ottoman-empireRev_13:12 He exercised all the ruling authority of the first beast on his behalf, and made the earth and those who inhabit it worship the first beast, the one whose lethal wound had been healed.

The Book of Revelation confirms the notion that the region of the old Ottoman Empire and Assyria will head the future Antichrist’s empire the wound that was healed.

“There I saw…a scarlet beast that was covered with blasphemous names and had seven heads and ten horns (Revelation 17:3).”

Here we see the final “beast” empire of the Antichrist. The beast has seven heads and ten horns. We already know from the Book of Daniel that the ten horns represent the ten nations or kings that will comprise the Antichrist’s empire. But the seven heads stand for seven empires that have existed throughout history which have controlled the land of Israel. All have foreshadowed the final empire to come. The seven heads are seven mountains on which the woman sits. They are also seven kings. Five have fallen, one is (Roman), the other has not yet come; but when he does come, he must remain for a little while (Ottorman Empire). The Anti-Christ will seek to create a caliphate.

The beast who once was, and now is not, is an eighth king. He belongs to the seven and is going to his destruction. (Revelation 17:9–11)

Now the seven heads are called seven mountains. The Bible often uses mountains as a symbol representing an empire. There will actually have been a total of eight “beast” empires. The eighth empire will be ruled by the Antichrist. When John wrote this passage, five of the empires had already fallen. This is seen in the phrase “five have been.”

1. The Egyptian empire
2. The Assyrian empire
3. The Babylonian empire
4. The Persian empire
5. The Greek empire
6. The Roman empire
7. The Ottoman empire
8. Isis (Ant-Christ) empire

After these five, John tells us that one empire “is.” At the time that John wrote the Book of Revelation, Rome “was.” It ruled the Middle East, Northern Africa, and much of Europe. Thus the sixth empire was the Roman Empire. The next empire, of course, is the seventh, and then the eighth will be the empire of the Antichrist. So the seventh empire is the empire that we need to identify, because, according to the verse, the eighth empire will be a resurrected or a revived version of the seventh empire: “The beast who once was, and is not, is an eighth king.” Let me just paraphrase this portion for clarity: “The seventh beast [empire] that existed, but then did not exist, will come back as an eighth empire (Ottoman).” So if we are now waiting for the final eighth empire, then what was the seventh? What empire followed Rome? What empire previously ruled the Middle East, including Jerusalem? We must always remember that the Bible is thoroughly Israel-centric. It is not America-centric, nor is it Western-centric. In the biblical view of things, Jerusalem is the center of the world. This point cannot be underscored enough. Unless the empire rules over or directly affects Jerusalem, it is actually a bit irrelevant to the biblical mind-set.

In a very natural succession the first six empires, either destroyed or absorbed the empire that preceded it. If we look at each empire, we see that they all fulfill two characteristics: they ruled over Jerusalem and they defeated or absorbed their predecessor. The Egyptian empire ruled all of Egypt and Israel. But the Assyrian empire defeated the Egyptian empire and likewise ruled over a vast portion of the Middle East, including Israel.

shopify analytics